Poket News

Malaysia temporarily bans entry of travelers 


  • Malaysia has temporarily banned the entry of travelers from countries that have reported the Omicron COVID-19 variant. 
  • The Southeast Asian nation joins countries around the world that have limited travel from southern Africa, where the variant, believed to be the most contagious yet, was first detected.
  • Malaysia  health minister Khairy Jamaluddin  said the travel ban applies to eight African countries, including South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Malawi.